Something you need to know about me

Ok, there’s one thing about me that will occasionally bother me…
It’s that I’m constantly thinking.
I constantly take in things from around me; from the world, from people, etc.
I can never not notice something.  I mean, ironically, for some things I can be totally absentminded.  But for most things…I’m not.
I have a problem with overthinking and overanalyzing.  It kinda makes sense that I also have anxiety.
But I’ve always been this way for my whole life, from a little girl till now.
I’ve always been described as a “deep” person.  I’ve always had a ton of opinions about the world and the things going on in it.
And sometimes I wish I wasn’t that way.  Sometimes I wish I could just let things happen to me without running and replaying them over and over in my head later, prodding and turning them over.  Just…experience life and its moments.  Not think back on them obsessively like I do.
I will actually hold debates with myself and lay in bed at night talking, (and pretty much any time during the day as well) pretending like I am giving a speech or talking to a friend about a world issue or problem.  I don’t know if anyone can relate to that because I’m probably just really weird.
A couple of months ago I took the Myer Briggs, or 16 Personalities Test, online.  My result was an INFJ, which is apparently the rarest type out of all the personalities and makes up less than one percent of the population.
That suddenly made a lot of things make sense to me.  I told my mom, and she said she “was not surprised at all.”  Well, I guess my mom has to put up with a lot from me.
Anyway, what do you guys think?  Are you the same way?  What personality type are you?  Any fellow INFJ’s out there?

6 thoughts on “Something you need to know about me

  1. I completely relate with the whole absentminded-but-thinking-too-much thing. I constantly leave things places or forget things or space out or am just not really aware of what’s going on because there’s so much going on in my head. I’m so distracted by my thoughts that things in the outside world become invisible! It’s kind of a relief when you find out you’re an INFJ, because it starts to make sense why you feel like you are so different from other people!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my gosh. I relate 100%. And I’m an INFJ too! I am literally the same. I overthink everything. My family says I live in my head. And sometimes I hate that about myself. That I can’t live in the real world.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I’m loving your posts so far! I have only ever found one other INFJ online that I’ve spoken to directly. Another INFJ’s blog you might like: thetriflingvagrant.wordpress.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

