Let’s talk frands

So I was thinking about this the other day, and wanted to make a post on it.
Is it weird to not have one main group of friends?  Because I don’t.
I used to have a really hard time making friends and talking to people, but because my anxiety has majorly improved, it’s a lot easier for me now.  I’ve managed to force myself out of my house and do more stuff this year instead of staying in my bedroom, and I’ve made new friendships.

But one thing that I’ve noticed is that I don’t really have one core group of friends.  I hang out with lots of different groups, and my friends are kinda scattered and from all over the place.  A lot of my friends don’t know each other.
Most of the times at parties I’ll just go around and talk to whoever.  I’ll never really be in a group of people.  Sometimes I’ll just end up standing alone, with not a lot of people to talk to.
I’ll see people with their one core group of friends that they are always hanging out with, like these certain 4 or 5 people.  Sometimes one of them is missing, or sometimes someone new is added to the group, but for the most part it’s always this group doing pretty much everything together.  At my tutorial.  At parties.  At events.  At dances.  For the most part they’re always together, and if some event happens and it goes on social media, it’s always them together.  Like sometimes I wonder, do they have any other friends? XD
Sometimes I wish I had that.  But other times I think it’s better to have different groups of friends, and not just one.  A lot of times I’ll see these people be exclusive, and not open to adding more people to their group.  Personally I don’t see the point to being exclusive.  If you and I have stuff in common and click together, and I like you, sure, I’ll be your friend.  I’m open to meeting new people.
So yeah, it used to kind of bother me but then I realized that it’s okay to not have a real group of friends.  It’s okay to not always have someone to talk to at all times during parties.
I guess your happiness shouldn’t rely on the number of friends you have, or the number of people you hang out.
You can be just fine with a handful of good friends.  I mean, I’d personally prefer that over having tons of friendly acquaintances that I call “friends.”
I also feel like I’d probably also start to become exclusive if I was part of a tight-knit group. XD I guess not having that makes me more open and welcoming, and not exclusive.
So what do you guys think?  Do you agree, disagree?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk frands

  1. I agree! I have so many different friend groups: online and in the clubs from my online school, friends from the school I used to go to, youth group friends (old school friends and these kids mix too), and tennis friends! None really know about each other, and that’s fine. I think it’s important to have like-minded people who share your different interests, and not everyone is of course going to share alll my interests, so tis why I have lots of different kinds of friend groups 😛 Plus it just happens like you said: I like you, you like me, we share an interest or two, we’re friends. I was always excluded from tight friend groups (I know too well about that 😦 ) so I know what it’s like so instead of trying to mold myself into one group, I spread the love ;P Sorry for the long comment! Lovely and very true post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally understand what you’re talking about. I’m a freshman in college, and I’m still meeting new people, so I don’t have a set group of friends either. I have a hard time making friends, so my friends are kind of scattered. The only thing that sucks is that I can’t have them all hang out together because they probably wouldn’t mesh very well.

    ❤️ Leani
    lightbeautysite.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree! In high school I had a main group of friends, and I had a main group of friends for the first year and a half of college. Then that fell apart, and I haven’t found a group since. Sometimes I feel really self-conscious about that when I see pictures of the “cliques” of my university on social media from weekend parties or things like that. But it’s never as great as it seems online. Groups of friends often involve a ton of drama. Plus, having friends from different groups gives you a much wider variety of perspective!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

