Random: I don’t know how to hold a pencil

So something new has popped up in my life, and that something is that I am learning how to hold a pencil.
Basically, when I was first learning to hold a pencil as a child, I didn’t like the way I was taught to hold it.  So I just held it the way it felt comfortable for me, and didn’t think anything of it.
The way I hold a pencil is basically bunching up my hand around it.  Doing it this way causes it to rub against my ring finger, so I have had a big bump on my right ring finger since I was little.
Recently, I realized it was probably best to learn how to hold a pencil the right way, after so many years of doing it wrong.  So I googled it today, and have been practicing.  It’s pretty strange and uncomfortable, but I’m hoping to get better at it over time.
It’s just funny to me that I love writing so much, yet don’t even know how to hold a pencil the right way. XD

Is there a chance anyone else has experienced this??

11 thoughts on “Random: I don’t know how to hold a pencil

  1. Is there really a “right” way to hold a pencil??? I had no clue! I’m left handed so I always ignored the teacher when they were teaching us how to write in pre-K…

    Like

    1. haha yeah, apparently you’re supposed to hold a pencil by using three fingers, but I use all five in this weird grip. XD Haha yup, that’s basically what I did! I hated the way I was taught to hold it, so I rebelled and used my own method. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

