No regrets?

I was hit by a thought a little while ago: I don’t really regret anything, and I wouldn’t want to change anything about my past even if I had the power to.
Even though there has definitely been things I could have avoided doing (small example, I have a terrible sense of time and tend to waste it pretty easily) and there’s been times I’ve wished I could change things about my past, now I don’t want to.
I wouldn’t have learnt most of the things I have in life if it weren’t for my mistakes and the things I’ve been through.  I mean, think about it.  If you had the power to, would you really want to change or cut out parts of your past?  Everything happens for a reason.  Everything that happens to you in life-that’s meant to happen to you.
If you erased parts of your past, chances are, depending on how big it is, you’ll be a completely different person today.  Struggle makes you strong, and every struggle teaches a person a specific lesson, maybe a lesson they couldn’t have learnt any other way.
When I developed anxiety at 13, I would always wish that it never happened.  But now I’m thankful for my anxiety.  It’s the best and worst thing that’s ever happened to me.  It’s made me the person I am today, and it’s taught me many things.
If I never developed anxiety problems, I would have been a completely different person because it was something that really altered my life.  And now I realize that it’s also taught me things that I’ve desperately needed.  And I don’t think I would have learnt them any other way.
I think the same goes for everyone.  You need the struggle you have in your life.  It might not seem like it at the time, but later things will start to fall into place and make sense.
Hardship happens to everybody.  There’s no way it can be avoided.  If you could take out one problem in your life, true, you wouldn’t have it anymore.  But chances are, something else will pop up in place of that.
And for the regret thing, I guess I believe this.  I have some of them, but mostly I don’t.  Every mistake is a lesson learned.  If you didn’t make that specific mistake, it wouldn’t have taught you anything.  But if you did make the mistake, and went back and erased it, you’re taking out the valuable lesson learnt because of it.  And we really need those valuable lessons to learn and grow, and to not repeat the same thing next time.
So my thoughts.

8 thoughts on “No regrets?

  1. So true.. I know everything you say is true… just wish I could feel the same. The wisdom side if my heart and mind know that is how to view things, the other side that is full of hurt and regret just needs to get there…

    Like

    1. Believe me, I felt like that too! Only recently has my mindset been shifting, but I still have bad days. 🙂 One great quote I love relating to mistakes/regret is, “It’s not how we make mistakes, but how we correct them that defines us.” 🙂 I wish you the best!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

